NBA — 23 April 2015
How Did DeAndre Jordan Not Win Defensive Player of the Year?

Despite missing a chunk of the season due to injury, the Spurs’ Kawhi Leonard has won the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year award. He finished ahead of Draymond Green and DeAndre Jordan.

Frankly, it’s nothing short of incredible that DeAndre Jordan has never won this award and this third place finish is laughable. He should probably have two of these awards now, as he’s in there solely for defensive purposes (and to catch an alley-oop or two, of course). It’s been a very long time since the best defender in the game won the award. I’d argue you have to go back to Dwight Howard in 2011. It’s no surprise that we recently seen two Defensive Players of the Year not be named to the First Team All-Defense. That’s strengthens my argument.

This is not to take anything away from Kawhi. He truly is a tremendous perimeter defender, but I’m not sure how his 18 missed games can be overlooked when DeAndre played all 82 and is the defensive anchor for a third place Western Conference team. Not to mention the fact that, with rebounding being a defensive stat, Jordan led the league with 15 per game, and was fourth in blocks.

Related Articles


About Author

Kevin Burke

(2) Readers Comments

  1. I agree with you 100% bro. I myself love Kawhi a lot for what he brings to the table and how he impacts what the Spurs does but how can he more impactful than DeAndre, Draymond and even AD who are the anchors of their team’s defense.? Factor the games missed into it and he can never be more of an asset than even jordan or Green whose teams are not built around defensive principles and stand out as the reason that their teams are even considered a force. But NBA politics is just that. There is the status quo and then there are the others.

    • Good call on AD. We didn’t even mention him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *